Flightgear

Hi All

I’m having a dabble with the above - has anyone on here any experience of it?

I’ve got it installed ok and I’m trying to add a few more aircraft. The aircraft files are in my Downloads folder but when I try to move or copy them to the specific Flightgear folder, I get a pop-up saying ‘permission denied’.

I’ve also tried following the instructions from the Fightgear WIKI -

Linux
(Ubuntu 12.04)
Download the aircraft
Open Terminal and log in as root

sudo -i

Navigate to /usr/share/games/flightgear/Aircraft

cd /usr/share/games/flightgear/Aircraft

Extract your aircraft file into the folder

unzip XXXXX.zip

this is where I hit a brick wall!

I suspect I’m using incorrect commands in terminal or perhaps I need to change permissions of the aircraft files? I’ve no experience of doing this so any pointers would be welcome!

TIA

Rich

It looks like the Flightgear folder needs root permissions to write to it so If you navigate to the Flightgear folder have you tried right clicking on the folder then select “Open as Root” then try to paste the files inside, then assuming these are compressed files you can right click and select “Extract here”

PS
The above assumes you’re running Peppermint

Good luck

Graeme

Hi Graeme! Thanks for that - spot on! Aircraft in and more to come! Isn’t life grand when you know what you’re doing? ;D

Rich

(Using Mint 17 btw, but the instructions worked exactly the same. Just got to learn how to fly 'em now… ::))

Just got to learn how to fly 'em now

Can’t help you there the last planes I played around were made by Airfix

Anyway glad you got it working :slight_smile:

Graeme

Hi Rich J,
Can I ask what joystick you are using ?

Don W

Saitek Cyborg Evo - I’d borrowed one of the same a couple of years ago (when still on XP) and it worked reasonably well with FG (unfortunately XP didn’t!). Having switched to Linux, I thought I’d give FG a go again and found the same joystick model in a charity shop - £4! Result :smiley: